The Pumpkin Story

Pumpkins. A treat I just started to discover recently. As a kid I always thought that they looked “kinda creepy”, because I only knew their carved brothers. As a teenager, I thought that they were too healthy and not “my kinda food”. Now, as I have grown older and wiser (haha, just kidding myself), I have come to recognize that I LOVE pumpkins. Roasted, mashed, and so on. My favorite way to eat them: as soup. Yeah, boring. But yummy, especially when you need something warm on a rainy day at home.

In the following, I present to you: my preferred fall pumpkin carrot soup.

Pumpkin Carrot Soup

Ingredients:

IMG_7677-2

  • pumpkin (best: Hokkaido), 800 gr. (30 oz.)
  • carrots, 600 gr. (22 oz.)
  • onions, 2, small
  • fresh ginger, 5 cm (2 in)
  • butter, 2 tablespoons
  • vegetable stock, 1 l
  • coconut milk, 400 ml
  • lemon, 1
  • soy sauce, curry, salt and pepper to taste
  • optional: prawns

How to cook:Β 

1) Peel and dice ginger, carrots and onions. If you use Hokkaido, no peeling is required. All other types of pumpkin need to be peeled before dicing.

2) Steam all ingredients in butter. Add vegetable stock and cook approximately 20 minutes.

3) Puree everything until consistency is smooth.

4) Add coconut milk, juice of one lemon and soy sauce, curry, salt and pepper to taste.

5) Cook for another 2-3 minutes – done!

If you have some prawns/shrimps on hand, add them as well. Unfortunately, I was out of prawns, so no prawns on my pictures. Boo to my badly stocked freezer.

As you can see, this pumpkin soup is pretty easy and fast to throw together. Except for cutting the pumpkin on your own. Thanks for helping me with that, babe! (yeah, he can be helpful from time to time πŸ˜‰ )

Hope you like it as much as I do. Enjoy!

VIVI

One thought on “The Pumpkin Story

  1. Pingback: BlingBling Halloween | La VIVIdora

Leave a Reply

